Skip Navigation
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina Show SC.gov Links
PO Box 17151333 Main Street, Suite 500Columbia, SC 29202-1715803-737-5700

Compensation Rates


2018 Maximum Weekly Compensation Rate
 

The South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce has certified the average weekly wage in South Carolina for the period July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017 was $838.21.  For accidents occurring on or after January 1, 2018 the maximum weekly compensation rate shall be $838.21. This increases the maximum weekly compensation rate by $31.29 than the rate in 2017.

As provided in Title 42 of the SC Code of Laws, 1976 the maximum weekly compensation rate equals 66⅔% of an individual’s average weekly wage, not to exceed the average weekly wage in this State for the preceding fiscal year as determined by the South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce. 

Compensations Rates Since 1979

1/1/18$838.21
1/1/17$806.92
1/1/16$784.03
1/1/15$766.05
1/1/14$752.16
1/1/13$743.72
1/1/12$725.47
1/1/11$704.92

1/1/10

$689.71

1/1/09

$681.36

1/1/08

$661.29

1/1/07

$645.94

1/1/06

$616.48

1/1/05

$592.56  

1/1/04

$577.73  

1/1/03

$563.55  

1/1/02

$549.42  

1/1/01

$532.77

1/1/00

$507.34

1/1/99

$483.47  

1/1/98

$465.18   

1/1/97

$450.62

1/1/96

$437.79

1/1/95

$422.48

1/1/94

$410.26

1/1/93

$393.06

1/1/92

$379.82

1/1/91

$364.37

1/1/90

$350.19

1/1/89

$334.87

1/1/88

$319.20

1/1/87

$308.24

1/1/86

$294.95

1/1/85

$287.02

1/1/84

$268.99

1/1/83

$254.38

1/1/82

$235.00

1/1/81

$216.00

1/1/80

$197.00

1/1/79

$185.00

Mileage Rates to and from Doctor

Effective January 1, 201854.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 201753.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 201654 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 201557.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 201456 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 201356.5 cents per mile
Effective July 1, 201255.5 cents per mile
Effective January 1, 201250.5 cents per mile

Effective January 1, 2011

50.5 cents per mile

Effective January 1, 2010

50 cents per mile

Effective July 1, 2008

50.5 cents per mile

Effective July 1, 2006

44.5 cents per mile

Effective August 23, 2004


Commission policy was changed to include mileage to and from the pharmacy 

34.5 cents per mile

Effective January 1, 2001

34.5 cents per mile

Effective January 1, 2000

32.5 cents per mile

Effective April 1, 1999

31 cents per mile

Effective July 1, 1998

32.5 cents per mile

Effective July 1, 1997

31.5 cents per mile

Effective July 1, 1990

25.5 cents per mile

Effective July 1, 1986 

21 cents per mile

Effective July 1, 1984 

20.5 cents per mile